

# Office of the State Fire Marshal Regulatory & Licensing Division

Home Inspector Application

WV State Fire Marshal's Office Regulatory and Licensing 1700 MacCorkle Ave SE, 4<sup>th</sup> Floor North Charleston, WV 25314 Phone: (304) 558-2191

Updated 09/2023



#### West Virginia State Fire Marshal's Office

#### **Regulatory and Licensing**

1700 MacCorkle Ave SE, 4<sup>th</sup> Floor North Charleston, WV 25314 (304) 558-2191 firemarshal.wv.gov

## APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS AND APPLICATION FORM FOR THE WEST VIRGINIA HOME INSPECTOR CERTIFICATION

- You must include a completed, dated and signed application form.
- You must provide a criminal record report (background check) with fingerprints from both the WV State Police and the F.B.I.
  - The WVSFMO will not process fingerprint cards. You will need to use a third-party vendor such as Identogo for the checks. Results will be sent directly to you. You will then send your results in with the application form.
  - Identogo: www.identogo.com or call 1-855-766-7746 (There is no service code)
- Please provide proof of general liability insurance of no less than \$250,000.00.
- You must provide verification of passing the following exam: The National Home Inspector Exam through EBPHI. Contact: <a href="https://www.homeinspectionexam.org">www.homeinspectionexam.org</a> or 1-847-298-7750
- You must provide proof of completion of an approved 80-hour initial Home Inspection Course approved for West Virginia. A list of approved courses can be found at: <a href="https://firemarshal.wv.gov/Divisions/Fire%20Services/Documents/Licensing/HI%20Approve%20Certification%20Course%20List.pdf">https://firemarshal.wv.gov/Divisions/Fire%20Services/Documents/Licensing/HI%20Approve%20Certification%20Course%20List.pdf</a>
- Include a copy of a High School Diploma or GED.
- Include a copy of valid West Virginia business license issued by the:
  - West Virginia Department of Tax and Revenue.
- Include a Check or Money Order payable to "WVSFMO" for \$150.00. Do Not Include CASH

<u>SUBMIT THE APPLICATION FORM, ALL REQUIRED DOCUMENTATION AND LICENSE FEE TO</u> THE WVSFMO'S OFFICE.

For further information, please dial 304-558-2191 and ask to speak with the Licensing Division.



### **Application for West Virginia Home Inspector Certification**

Be sure to complete all sections of this application in print and legible.

1. Applicant Personal Information - Please complete ALL fields.					
Name					
(Last, First, M Int)					
				•	
Mailing Address					
Home Phone		Cell Phone			
Valid Email Address		WV Tax ID #			
Business Name		Work Phone			
Social Security Number		Date of Birth			
(Required by Law)	xx	XX/XX/XXX			
(required by Law)					
2. Personal History - If you answer any of these questions with yes, include an explanation on a separate piece of paper and attach it with your application.					
Have you ever been convicted or entered a guilty plea or no contest to any felony?				□ no	
Do you currently have jurisdiction?	□ yes	□ no			
Have there ever been a you as a home inspect	□ yes	□ no			
Have you ever been denied licensure as a home inspector by any state or jurisdiction?				□ no	
You must submit the required criminal background check reports with your application!					

3. Insurance Information - Submit a copy of your "Certificate of Insurance" with your application.					
I carry the required amount (\$250,000) of liability insurance.					
Insurance Ag	gent:	Phone Number:			
My employer carries the required amount (\$250,000) of liability insurance.					
You must submit letter of employment stating the company carries the required insurance.					
4. Affidavit Statement					
By signing this application, I swear and affirm that the required documentation and information submitted in and with this application is true in every respect. I fully understand that any false or misleading information may result in denial of licensure or revocation of any license obtained by providing false information. I also fully understand that by submitting fraudulent documentation or information, that I may face other penalties under law. I hereby give permission to the Office of The West Virginia State Fire Marshal to contact any employer or school provided on this application to verify the information provided by the applicant is accurate. Being qualified, according to the provisions of Title 87, Series 5, Code of West Virginia, I hereby make application for licensure.					
Signature		Date			