You may be trying to access this site from a secured browser on the server. Please enable scripts and reload this page.
Skip to Navigation
Skip to Main Content
State Agency Directory
WV State Fire Marshal
State Fire Marshal
Fire Inspections/ Plans Review
Fire Safety Inspection
Plans and Review Section
Contact - Investigations
Regulatory and Licensing Division
Public Education Division
Fire-Safe Cigarette Certification
Fire Department Services Division
2017 Fire Prevention Guide
Get Alarmed WV!
**Announcement: As of January 1, 2018 all electrical test questions will be based on the 2017 National Electric Code (NEC).**
Supervision of Electricians
Authority: West Virginia State Code, Chapter 29, Article 3B "Supervision of Electricians"
West Virginia Code of State Rule, Title 87, Series 2 "Supervision of Electricians"
Incomplete testing applications will be returned and may be resubmitted with no additional fees. Applications submitted without testing fees will be discarded. If you must reschedule, please notify this office NO LATER than the date of the test. Rescheduling after the date of the test will result in you forfeiting your application and review fee. You MAY reschedule no more than (3) three times in any calendar year. Walk-ins are not authorized and you will not be allowed to test by the test proctor UNLESS you have authorization from the central office.
You are authorized to bring to the test the following: 2017NEC Code Book, Keyword Index, Ugly's Book, Regular Calculator, Pencils, and any other pre-printed material you feel will assist you EXCEPT sample tests. Sample tests will be confiscated and may not be returned. You will be permitted (4) four hours to complete the exam. If you arrive late, you will not be allotted additional time.
If you successfully pass the exam, you will receive a notification letter no later than (10) ten days after the exam. Return the license application with the license fee ($50.00) to the central office. Once we process you license application, you should receive your license card via USPS within (14) fourteen days. You may not submit your license application for licensure after (12) twelve months and must retest to acquire your license.
2017 Electrical Temporary License Application
2017 Electrical License Reciprocity Application
2017 Electrical Exam Application
Master License - $50.00 Annual Fee (Expires June 30 each year)
Journeyman License - $50.00 Annual Fee (Expires June 30 each year)
Apprentice License - $50.00 Annual Fee (Expires June 30 each year)
All Specialty Licenses - $50.00 Annual Fee (Expires June 30 each year)
Master, Journeyman, All Specialty Licenses - $25.00 testing fee
Apprentice License - $10.00 testing fee
Retest - $10.00 all licenses (Applicable if within 12 months of last exam)
All license (except temporary licenses) expire June 30 each year. You will receive a renewal notice in April for your convenience. Return the renewal form with the appropriate licensure fee in the provided envelope. ALL RENEWALS MUST BE POST-DATED NO LATER THAN JUNE 30. You may still renew your license after June 30 if you pay the $15.00 late fee up to June 30 the following year. If your license lapses for more than (12) twelve months there is a penalty of $15.00 per year to renew. You may renew up to 3 years past expiration by paying the $50 per year licensing fee(s), plus the $15.00 per year penalty.
The West Virginia State Fire Marshal's Office recognizes reciprocity with several jurisdictions. Regardless of the jurisdiction, each applicant MUST possess the minimum WV requirements for licensure. Reciprocity can only be granted if the individual tested under the current licensing entity and with proof of successfully passing an examination. Individuals who previously held a WV Electrician's License and allowed it to expire ARE NOT eligible for reciprocity.
Virginia - Master and Journeyman Classifications
Ohio - Master Classification
North Carolina - Master Classification
Kentucky - Master and Journeyman Classifications
Maryland - Master Classification
WV Division of Labor, Contractor's Board - Master Classification
Download Chapter 29, Article 3B "Supervision of Electricians"
Download Legislative Rule 87-2 "Supervision of Electricians"
Download a Complaint Form