Media Release State Fire Commission Officers Re-elected


Dec. 21, 2018
State Fire Commission Officers Re-elected
CHARLESTON, W.Va. – The West Virginia Fire Commission has elected to keep its current leadership during calendar year 2019, the Office of the State Marshal announced Friday.
Chairman Grant Gunnoe, who represents the West Virginia Professional Fire Chiefs Association; Vice Chairman Doug Mongold, representing the West Virginia Firemen’s Association; and Secretary Ted Shriver, representing the West Virginia Society of Architects, all retained their positions for the coming year.
The commission held its election Dec. 14 during its quarterly meeting in Triadelphia, Ohio County.
The State Fire Commission consists of thirteen members, qualified by experience and training to deal with the responsibilities of the commission. The following are the remaining members and who they represent: 
• Phil Hart and Martin Hess, the West Virginia Fire Chief’s Association;
• Jim Oldaker and Doug Estep, the West Virginia Firemen's Association;
• Mark Stroop and Virgil White, the West Virginia Professional Firefighters Association;
• Carl Eastham, the West Virginia Professional Fire Chiefs Association;
• Edward George and Thomas Keefer, the West Virginia Manufacturers Association;
• Dave Camp, the Professional Independent Insurance Agents of West Virginia and the West Virginia Society of Architects.
The governor appoints the commissioners. The state Senate on Dec. 10 confirmed Mongold, Hess and Stroop after Gov. Jim Justice chose them for terms ending June 30, 2023.
The Fire Commission next meets 9 a.m. Friday, Feb. 8 at the Fire Marshal’s Office in Charleston. The commission’s committees will meet the prior day beginning at 10 a.m.
# # #